Track Premiere: Sonny Falls — “Unforgiving Sun” & “Dead Day Laughing”

Posted: by The Editor

Photo by Emma Bilyeu

Sonny Falls, the moniker of Chicago songwriter Ryan “Hoagie Wesley” Ensley, are gearing up to release a double album titled All That Has Come Apart/Once Did Not Exist at some point later down the road. All That Has Come Apart/Once Did Not Exist is split into three movements with the band planning to slowly release new songs over the course of the year, a welcome breath of fresh air from the traditional album rollout cycle. The band has already shared the first three tracks from the album and today we’re premiering the next two, “Unforgiving Sun” and “Dead Day Laughing,” which in my personal opinion are some of the best songs that Ensley has ever written. Featuring contributions from his former labelmate Sen Morimoto on saxophone, Sonny Falls latest offerings are earnest and immensely satisfying, a one-two punch of fractured Americana delivered with an unmistakable urgency.

Stream both tracks below:

All That Has Come Apart/Once Did Not Exist will drop later this year via Plastic Miracles


Michael Brooks // @nomichaelbrooks 

The Alternative is ad-free and 100% supported by our readers. If you’d like to help us produce more content and promote more great new music, please consider donating to our Patreon page, which also allows you to receive sweet perks like free albums and The Alternative merch.