Track Feature: Upset – “Holy Basil”

Posted: by The Editor

Photo by Yuki Kikuchi

Los Angeles based power punk quartet, Upset, are on the verge of releasing their second studio album. It’s been four years since their last EP, ‘76,  and fans are ready for the group’s self-titled ballad to be released (November 22nd through Lauren Records). After sharing their rudimentary single “Tried & True” earlier this month, it’s hard not to be excited to hear what the powerhouse has in store. Comprised of Patty Schemel (Hole/Death Valley Girls), Ali Koehler (Vivian Girls/Best Coast), Lauren Freeman (Benny the Jet Rodriguez), and Nicole Snyder (Slutevr), the group has no shortage of talent.

Today, the band released the introductory track to Upset, “Holy Basil”. The tumultuous single feels electric yet weary. Semi-reflective of the confrontational narrative that begins, “You wait in line behind your faithless friends / Did it make you feel ashamed to watch them smile while they rubbed salt in my face?” Finding stride as the infectious chorus rolls in, a funky bassline elevates and guides the track until Schemel’s pulsating drums fully announce themselves. Upset are completely aware of their individual talents and compliment one another’s strengths with striking precision. Make sure to pre-order your copy now.

S/T Tracklist:

  1. Holy Basil
  2. No Exit
  3. Over My Head
  4. Lucky Strikes Out
  5. Brighton
  6. The World Is Bigger Now
  7. Degenerate
  8. Tried & True
  9. Mullet
  10. Tony’s On The Pier

Follow Upset

Twitter / Bandcamp / Facebook

The Alternative is ad-free and 100% supported by our readers. If you’d like to help us produce more content and promote more great new music, please consider donating to our Patreon page, which also allows you to receive sweet perks like free albums and The Alternative merch.


Emily Kitchin//@DeathNap4Cutie